give me beer, give me bands

by Erica

Ok. I saw this yesterday and I tweeted about it. And I Facebook posted about it. Facebook is a very serious thing. Like most of its users, I purely use it on a stalking basis. I think the proper term is ‘lurking?’ Regardless. This was totally post worthy. Firstly, I love a good Stella Artois. Secondly, I love Cold War Kids. And I’ve seen them in concert numerous times. Sadly, none of those times I’ve ordered a Stella. Here’s to next time – because of this campaign.

Before I talk about why this all makes perfect sense, I’m trying to dig back to how they even got on the right track. They must’ve dug a heck of a lot of leaves out of the way. But my first thoughts center around the word ‘craft.’ Stella is, essentially, a craft beer. And whether we want to admit it or not, craft beer has a lot of connotations in its own. I’ll admit, I’ve taken my fair share of Buzzfeed quizzes: ‘which drink are you?’ ‘what does your favorite drink say about you?’ Anyway, apparently I’m a super hipster who always knows ‘somewhere better.’ Maybe that’s true. I’m leaving it up in the air. But there’s an obvious connection here. Craft. Like, was that the word they wrote on the board to contemplate? I really hope it is. The copy in the ad, (I’m not sure it’s the one that I posted) is brilliant. It makes the connection perfectly. They talk incessantly (but in a great way) about the way that these glass chalices are crafted. They’re ‘crafted’ in a way that each makes its a unique noise which makes a larger part of this symphony. The ‘craft’ of the beer. The ‘craft’ of the chalice. The ‘craft’ of the sound. That’s fantastic stuff. And it leads way to the perfect way to drive interest to their product. Music.

Again, I’m going back to that idea of the ‘hipster.’ It’s a negative word, but there’s clearly a cultural lifestyle out there that is prevalent and may or may not resemble this derogatory term. We’re more cultured. Anyway. These are the people that are drinking your product, your ‘craft’ beer drinkers. And a lot of these people also happen to be really into music. Really into music you’ve probably never heard of. That’s the crossroad. And it’s amazing. I’ve been to my fair share of concerts, and more – the more craft the beer (but you’ve always got your solid PBR drinkers), the cooler you are. You don’t go to concerts and see people holding mixed drinks – often. I’m not saying it hasn’t happened, because it did. It happened right in front of me in Richmond, Virginia this July at the Local Natives concert – and it ruined an otherwise unearthly experience. These are beer drinkers. And they like beer for the taste. And they know their beer. It’s not a ‘specials’ type environment. Music venues and beer are a thing. These people are your drinkers. And Stella took great advantage of them.

Cold War Kids is a band that’s been around, but their old enough that you respect their stuff. They might even have had a new album come out in the past few years? I’m not sure. Maybe it’s better if they haven’t? (Your’e itching to get at their new stuff). They’re a staple. They’re a kick-back. And it’s super cool that Stella decided to team up with them to make music. Beer, bands, and bad-ass instruments. The minute they released the song on their website, I clicked so hard. So hard. I’d like to see some stats, actually – it’d be pretty interesting stuff. But beyond the drive of awareness of their brand, they’re totally making connections that are going to sell. These people are not drinking out of solo cups. It’s a multi-focal attack and I dig it. They’re pressing a lifestyle here, they’re driving their main product, but they’re really giving you incentive to make them big bucks (I haven’t priced the chalice yet, but I’d totes be itching to get one and I bet you they cost a pretty penny). The way they know their consumer is unreal, assuming I’m tracing them back the right way, which I hope I am. Regardless, it’s a very cool campaign and I’m all over it.

Not to mention it’s helluva creative. As I’ve said over and over and over again, I’m interested in the ways that things intersect, and this intersection is magnificent. Kudos to you.